NEW ZEALAND Scholarship
Development Scholarship and Commonwealth Scholarship
Programme outline
The New Zealand Aid Programme offers scholarships to potential applicants from eligible
African countries (including South Africa) who are motivated to make a difference at home.
• Scholarships available
• Eligibility
• Priority Sectors
• Selection Preferences
• Contact us
Scholarships available
The following scholarship types are available. Follow the links below for more information
about the particular scholarship type.
1. New Zealand Development Scholarship
Eligible countries: Algeria, Angola, Botswana, Cameroon, Djibouti, Egypt, Ethiopia,
Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia,
Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tunisia,
Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.
2. New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarship
Eligible Countries: Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius,
Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland,
Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia.
Degree level : Master’s and PhD
Deadlines: Applications open in early 2018 for studies beginning in early 2019.
Read application dates for more information. It is recommended that potential applicants start
preparing early due to the long application process.
Who can apply?
Candidates must meet all eligibility criteria. Note: there are differing criteria for different
Read the full eligibility criteria
Fields of Study
“We want scholars who are interested in studying subjects that can improve the social and
economic development of your country. We’ve chosen priority sectors that can help your
country and that New Zealand has expertise in.”
Priority Sectors
If you can show that your study is connected to any of these sectors, you are more likely to be
Agriculture development
• Agri-business management: agricultural economics, agricultural systems and management,
rural development, logistics, supply chain and distribution management, value chain
development, agriculture marketing, international agribusiness;
• Agriculture production: animal science, veterinary nursing, plant science, horticultural
science, soil science;
• Agriculture trade and technology: Phytosanitary, bio-security, biotechnology, agricultural
• Post-harvest: food production, food sciences/technology, post-harvest processing, food
storage and packaging, food safety.
Renewable energy
• Geothermal, solar, hydro-electric and wind energy, energy engineering, renewable energy
distribution systems, energy sector management/reform, including energy economics and
Read the What You Can Study page to see examples of qualifications for these subjects
Application process
Selection Preferences The New Zealand Aid Programme is guided by both the Priority
Sectors (above) and Selection Preferences when shortlisting candidates.
The New Zealand Aid Programme receives many enquiries that can be answered by reading
the extensive information on their website. For example, see Eligibility, How to Apply or
frequently asked questions. For questions which are not answered by the information on this
website, submit an online enquiry here (external link). Regional Contact: New Zealand High
Commission Attention: Scholarships, 125

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.